Career Development Award

The Career Development Award (CDA) is a research grant that provides funding to clinical investigators who have received their initial faculty appointment to establish an independent clinical cancer research program. The cancer research must have a patient-oriented focus, including a clinical research study and/or translational research involving human subjects. Proposals with a predominant focus on in vitro or animal studies (even if clinically relevant) are not allowed.

The Career Development Award (CDA) is a three-year cancer grant totaling $200,000, paid in three annual increments to the awardee’s institution.

The applicant must be a physician (MD, DO, or international equivalent) who is within the 1st to 3rd year of a full-time, primary faculty appointment in a clinical department at an academic medical institution at the time of grant submission. Grant applications from candidates with existing career development awards (such as K23, K08, or any other type of career development award) will not be considered.

The 2016 CDA online application opens on July 1, 2015 and applications are due by 11:59 pm ET on September 24, 2015.  Please read the 2016 Request for Proposals (RFP) for additional information about the CDA program and application instructions.

To initiate an application through the online grants management system, please go to     

2015 CDA Supporters:

Breast Cancer Research Foundation®
Conquer Cancer Foundation Mission Endowment
Genentech BioOncology™
GlaxoSmithKline Oncology
Michael’s Mission
Takeda Oncology

*This list reflects commitments as of March 27, 2015.

This grant receives support that may result in a report to the CMS Open Payments website under the Physician Payments Sunshine Act. The supporting companies are required to report the amount of the grant, the names of physicians who are awarded this grant, and the names of their institutions. This information may appear on the Open Payments website. More information about the Sunshine Act and CMS Open Payments program can be found here.