Advanced Clinical Research Award

The Advanced Clinical Research Award (ACRA) is a topic-specific competition designed to support physician-scientists committed to performing original, clinical cancer research in an area not currently funded. This research must have a patient-oriented focus, including a clinical research study and/or translational research involving human subjects. The ACRA is a three-year grant totaling $450,000 to pay for personnel and/or research expenses, and travel to attend the Conquer Cancer Grants and Awards Ceremony at the ASCO Annual Meeting. 

Past ACRA topics have included:

  • Breast Cancer
  • Colorectal Cancer
  • Glioma
  • Hematological Malignancies
  • Lung cancer
  • Sarcoma

The number of ACRA grants in each funding cycle is not predetermined by the Conquer Cancer Foundation. Awards are given based on individual merit and availability of funds. 


Applicants must meet the following criteria to qualify for the Advanced Clinical Research Award:

  • Be a physician (MD, DO, or international equivalent) working in any country
  • Be in the fourth to ninth year of a full-time, primary faculty appointment in a clinical department at an academic medical institution at the time of grant submission.
  • Have completed productive post-doctoral/post fellowship research and demonstrated the ability to undertake independent investigator-initiated clinical research.
  • Be an ASCO member (Full Member or International Corresponding Member) or have submitted a membership application with the grant application.
  • Be able to commit 75% of full-time effort in research (applies to total research, not just the proposed project) during the award period.

Application Instructions

All applications must be submitted in accordance to the requirements and instructions of the 2019 Advanced Clinical Research Award Request for Proposals (RFP). All application materials must be in English and must be submitted through the Grants Portal. Paper applications or applications sent by e-mail or fax will not be accepted. 


Conquering cancer with David G. Kirsch, MD, PhD

Dr. Kirsch received a 2010 Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO Advanced Clinical Research Award in Sarcoma to test the safety of a novel imaging agent that can selectively label sarcomas and other cancers compared to normal tissue.  Read more.


The Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO Advanced Clinical Research Award was first awarded in 2004. To date, we have funded 21 clinical investigators across the globe totaling more than $9 million.

2018 Advanced Clinical Research Award in Breast Cancer Recipients

Mariana Chavez Mac Gregor, MD, MSc
The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Understanding barriers and decreasing the time to chemotherapy in a vulnerable population: Pilot study of a targeted intervention


The 2018 Advanced Clinical Research Award in Breast Cancer is supported by:
This list reflects commitments as of July 15, 2018.